In order to provide you with the best possible service, we use cookies. You agree with this through your visit to this website.
Shopping cart

Maastricht Treaty 10 Euro Coin 2022 Gold Proof

Maastricht Treaty 10 Euro Coin 2022 Gold Proof
  • The first commemorative coin with the new privy mark raven!
  • Very popular among coin collectors
  • Delivered in a beautiful wooden case
  • With numbered Certificate of Authenticity
  • Legal tender in the Netherlands
Detailed description and specifications
First select a size and year to continue.
€ 469,00

This article can not be ordered


On 7 February 2022 it was exactly thirty years since the Maastricht Treaty was signed. The treaty is one of the most important in the founding of the European Union. In honour of the anniversary, the Royal Dutch Mint mints a commemorative coin on behalf of the Ministry of Finance. For collectors, the coin is also available in Gold Proof: the Maastricht Treaty 10 Euro Coin.
The Maastricht Treaty
The Maastricht Treaty significantly changed the institutions and decision-making processes of the European Economic Community. Existing EC treaties were expanded to include other areas than only economic affairs and nuclear energy as part of the common European policy. The treaty consisted of three pillars: the European Communities; a common foreign and security policy; and cooperation between EU governments in the field of justice and home affairs. In addition, an Economic and Monetary Union paragraph was included in the treaty, which led to the introduction of the single euro currency in 2002. The treaty was signed by twelve countries: Belgium, Denmark, Germany, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and the United Kingdom.
Inspiration of the Designer
The Maastricht Treaty 5 Euro Coin was designed by artist Rinus van Hall. Van Hall was inspired by the three pillars that form the basis of the treaty and by the location where the treaty was signed, the Government Building in Maastricht. On the front, King Willem-Alexander stands in the middle of the ceiling structure of the iconic hall of the building. The twelve stars symbolise the twelve original member states. On the reverse are twelve fountain pens that draw a temple front, with three supporting pillars as a symbol for the three pillars of the treaty. Spread across the reverse side are 27 stars: the EU now has 27 member states.

Article number 0113020
Metal Gold
Content 900/1000
Weight 6.72 g
Diameter 22.5 mm
Edge Serrated
Quality Proof
Nominal value 10 euros
Mintage 800