In order to provide you with the best possible service, we use cookies. You agree with this through your visit to this website.
Shopping cart

Silver Ducats

In the Netherlands, Silver Ducats became legal tender in 1659, at the same time with the Ducaton. In 1616 they were included in the Dutch Mint Act but were removed again in 1847. In 1987 they were reintroduced but no longer considered legal tender: they now became collector coins.

The obverse of a Silver Ducat always depicts an armored knight and the province weapon. The reverse shows the year of issue and the Latin phrase "Concordia res Parvae Crescunt". This motto, used between 1588 and 1795 in the Netherlands, is best translated as “Unity makes Strength”.

New series: Dutch Castles
In 2020 the Royal Dutch Mint introduces a new series of Silver Ducats: “Dutch Castles”. On each Silver Ducat field marshal Godard van Reede is shown as the armored knight. On his shield the weapon of the province the Dutch castle is located is shown along with the inscription MO.NO.ARG.REG.BELGII. In 2020, four Silver Ducats are issued.

On each issue you will find a different castle. All are commissioned by the Dutch Ministry of Finance. Each year we also issue Golden Ducats.

Silver Ducats 2020

Silver Ducats 2019

Silver Ducats 2018

Silver Ducats 2017

Silver Ducats

Silver Ducats 2015